National Association of Appraisers Unity Strength - Professionalism

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF APPRAISERS

The Association for All Professional Appraisers

March 10, 2013

Mr. Robert Rita, Chairman
Business & Occupational Licenses Committee
98th General Assembly
281-S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706

RE: Support for AB2720:

Dear Chairman Rita and members of the committee:

The National Association of Appraisers (NAA) is an association of professional appraisers dedicated to the goals of elevating the appraisal profession and increasing the public trust in both the appraisal process and professional appraisers. The NAA advocates for state and federal policies that best accomplish the realization of these goals.

On behalf of our members, I am writing in **support** of AB2720 and the proposed amendment to 225 ILCS 458/5-5 that would remove existing exemptions regarding certain types of valuations being considered appraisals under the act.

We recognize that there is a time and a place for reasonable exemptions. However, it is our firm position that the public is best protected when all valuations of real property are conducted by persons that are:

- Independent, impartial and objective third-parties acting with no bias or advocacy for any party to the transaction;
- Properly trained in the economic concepts of value and the application of those concepts to the tangible asset of real property; and
- Governed by professional standards of practice.

The only group of professionals that fully meet that description are the licensed and certified appraisers defined by The Real Estate Appraiser Licensing Act of 2002 (225 ILCS 458). Therefore, we once again voice our **support** for this bill and respectfully request that you vote in favor of its passage.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Michael L. Brunson, President National Association of Appraisers

cc: Representative Marcus C. Evans, Jr; Representative Raymond Poe; Representative Daniel J. Burke; Representative Linda Chapa LaVia; Representative C.D. Davidsmeyer; Representative Anthony DeLuca; Representative Josh Harms; Representative Robert F Martwick; Representative Thomas Morrison; Representative Elgie R. Sims, Jr.; Representative Keith P. Sommer